Pokemon Go is almost 2 years old, and the Niantic Labs studio keeps several major updates up its sleeve. One of them will come this summer. Pokemon Go trainers can now get ready for new creatures from the Kanto region, which will be available in the Alola form.

There are now 801 different creatures in Pokemon games. However, the creators decided to add even more variety to the game by adding various forms and variations of previously introduced creatures along the way. A similar procedure was introduced with the release of Pokémon Sun and Moon games. With the 8th generation, a new form was introduced, which was named just like the new region, i.e. Alola.

Marowak Alola

Niantic Labs will not introduce all new Pokemon from the Alola region

As for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd generations, Niantic Labs introduced them to their game almost entirely. There are only a few creatures missing that may appear later (e.g. during events). For unknown reasons, the studio decided to take a small break in the counting and instead of the 4th generation, first we will see the elements known from the latest, i.e. the 8th generation. One of them is the recently announced Alola form, which will be available for selected Pokemons originaly discovered in the Kanto region (1st generation). In Sun and Moon games, new forms have modyfied type, appearance and types of attacks. It is quite possible that in Niantic production it will look the same. Which Pokemons will receive a new form? We do not know that yet. It is possible that the list will be 100% compatible with previous Nintendo games. Here is the complete list of Pokemon in the Alola form:

  • Rattata, Raticate
  • Raichu
  • Sandshrew, Sandslash
  • Vulpix, Ninetales
  • Diglett, Dugtrio
  • Meowth, Persian
  • Geodude, Graveler, Golem
  • Grimer, Muk
  • Exeggutor
  • Marowak

Source: Niantic